PKRA CABARETE 2nd PLACE

It was a hard week in PKRA Cabarete, 14 women and 39 men from 20 countries came to struggle with Caribbean weather and win this event.
As all riders from south countries (brazilians, spanish etc.) are always complaining about the horrible weather in the north (Canada, Germany, Poland). Now is my  time to complain about the weather in Cabarete. It was 31’C with 100% humidity plus torrential rains which were stopping the wind, waves and people to move out from their hotels.
That is why some people had to fight with the weather like me, I got the sun stroke after first day so next two days I was sick and had to stay in the room with a big headache.

We finished the first and second day of competition at sunset at 7 30. Then wind was only worse and worse. However, we finished single and double elimination. My single elimination was going good till I got to top 4 and had the heat with Gisela in which i was riding super bad and I lost. Then in looser final I won with Bruna so I ended up on 3rd place.
The forecast for double elimination looked horrible, with big storm coming from Puerto Rico.

I was totally sure that we won’t be able to finish the competition. In the morning I went surfing, then I packed my equipment (I had to leave cabarete at 15 30 to catch my flight back to europe)… And suddenly at 13 30 the wind picked up!!! And it was quite strong for my 9m kite. So first I had a heat with Bruna which was one of my best heats so far. In next heat with Asia I won in the last minute, in which i did two tricks (bj swich and es pass). Finally I got to the final with Gisela, which I lost. My heat was ok, I did a lot of tricks but Gisela was on fire and with a lot of energy left.  She did all her tricks including kl slim, kl hp, bmobe and fmobe.
To sum up, now is my time to learn kl slim and kick her ass next time in St. Peters-Ording

I ll keep you update how my training is going on.

Now  I’m in Germany, in Sylt for European Tour

See videos from this event on www.extremeelements.tv and www.prokitetour.com

PS: Big THX for Victor Hays, who helped me a lot during the competition with changing my kites during heats and who packed my clothes so I could catch my flight. THX THX THX

Karolina

Leave a Reply

